About Moore

College Governance

The Governing Board of the College

In general terms, the management and control of the College is vested by the Synod of the Diocese of Sydney in the Moore Theological College Council. The Moore Theological College Council is incorporated under the Anglican Church Bodies Corporate Act 1938 and is constituted by the Moore Theological College Ordinance 2009. Under the Ordinance the Council is charged with the provision of training for ordination candidates and other church workers.

The affairs of the Moore Theological College Council are managed, governed and controlled by the Governing Board of the College.

The members of the Moore Theological College Governing Board are:

The Most Rev Dr G N Davies (President)

The Rev Dr M D Thompson (Principal)

Mr K M Chapman 

Mr A E Clemens (Treasurer)

Assoc. Professor D R Cohen (Chair of Academic Board)

The Right Rev C Edwards

Dr W J Hurditch

Mr A J Killen 

The Rev Canon K M Kim 

The Rev G S L Koo

Mr M I R Taylor (Student Representative)

The Rev Dr E A Loane (Faculty Representative)

The Rev J L Ramsay 

ADM Representative (vacant)

Dr R Tong AM (Secretary)

Dr D W Warren 

Academic Board

The Governing Board has delegated to the Academic Board responsibility for:

  • Policy formulation and decision making in all academic matters; and
  • Maintaining the academic values, quality and standards of the College.

The Academic Board is, in relation to all academic matters, the pre-eminent source of advice to the Governing Board.

The members of the Academic Board are:

Assoc. Professor David Cohen, University of NSW;

The Principal;

All members of the Faculty;

A student representative elected by the students; and

Dr Erica Sainsbury, University of Sydney.

This Board is chaired by Assoc. Professor David Cohen and meets five times per year.

The Board delegates various functions to a number of committees which report directly to it. The committees are:

The Learning and Teaching Committee;

The Research and Centres Committee;

The Library Committee;

The External Studies Committee;

The Bookshop Committee; and

The Human Research Ethics Committee.

The Academic Dean (Colin Bale), in conjunction with the Academic Board and its committees, is responsible for the supervision of the studies of theological students.

The Dean of Students (Paull Grimmond) is responsible for all matters which affect the personal and spiritual welfare of students and their families.

The Advisor to Overseas Students (Will Timmins) is the official point of contact for overseas students with the College.

The Academic Departments of the College with the respective Heads of Department are:

Division of Biblical Studies

Department of Old Testament and Hebrew — Andrew Shead

Department of New Testament and Greek — Philip Kern

Division of Christian Thought

Department of Theology, Philosophy and Ethics — Mark Thompson

Department of Church History — Colin Bale

Division of Christian Ministry

Department of Pastoral Ministry — Archie Poulos

Department of Mission — Simon Gilham